Join Adsterra Banner By Dibhu

Why Lord Krishna is offered 56 Bhogas


Why Lord Krishna is offered 56 Bhogas

There are many interesting stories behind the ‘Chappan Bhoga’ offered to God as Prasadam. According to Hindu folklore, the Lord Shri Krishna used to eat eight times a day. When King of Gods Indra became angry on Vraj and rained heavily for seven days on the village.

Lord Shri Krishna had raised Govardhana mountain to save all the Vraj from the wrath of Indra. Shri Krishna held Govardhana mountain on his little finger tip of constantly 7 days.

Since Nandlal Kanhaiya used to eight meals a day, it was a highly painful thing for his devotees. While showing their devotion to God, the people of Vraja showed their love by making 56 types of dishes in lieu of meals missed by him in seven days and eight hours. Since then the devotees started offering 56 Bhogas to Lord Krishna.

आखिर क्यों लगाया जाता है भगवान को 56 भोग


भगवान को अर्पित किए जाने वाले छप्पन भोग के पीछे कई रोचक कथाएं हैं। हिन्‍दू मान्यता के अनुसार, भगवान श्रीकृष्‍ण एक दिन में आठ बार भोजन करते थे। जब इंद्र के प्रकोप से सारे व्रज को बचाने के लिए भगवान श्री कृष्‍ण ने गोवर्धन पर्वत को उठाया था, तब लगातार सात दिन तक भगवान ने अन्न जल ग्रहण नहीं किया।

दिन में आठ प्रहर भोजन करने वाले व्रज के नंदलाल कन्हैया का लगातार सात दिन तक भूखा रहना उनके भक्तों के लिए कष्टप्रद बात थी। भगवान के प्रति अपनी श्रद्धा भक्ति दिखाते हुए व्रजवासियों ने सात दिन और आठ पहर का हिसाब करते हुए 56 प्रकार का भोग लगाकर अपने प्रेम को प्रदर्शित किया। तभी से भक्‍तजन कृष्‍ण भगवान को 56 भोग अर्पित करने लगे।

Facebook Comments Box

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post? is committed for quality content on Hinduism and Divya Bhumi Bharat. If you like our efforts please continue visiting and supporting us more often.😀
Tip us if you find our content helpful,

Companies, individuals, and direct publishers can place their ads here at reasonable rates for months, quarters, or

One Comment on “Why Lord Krishna is offered 56 Bhogas”

  1. हरे राम हरे राम राम राम हरे हरे
    हरे कृष्ण हरे कृष्ण कृष्ण कृष्ण हरे हरे

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

धर्मो रक्षति रक्षितः